My story

Fairy tale — girl meets boy, girl and boy fall in love, girl and boy get engaged, then girl and boy move in together.  My story is a fairy tale, but with an added twist.

I grew up in a suburb of St. Louis, lived there most of my life.  I was 20 minutes away from everywhere: restaurants, 5 malls, friends’ houses and anything else you could want to do.  I went to the University of Missouri to continue my education– MIZ! Mizzou is one of my favorite places in the world and I’m definitely missing it.  The campus is beautiful, there’s tons of new places to eat and shop, bars and other activities to do with friends.  It’s the dream.  It was at this beautiful place that I met my wonderful fiance.  We dated for a semester and then he had to go and graduate, so we spent the next 2 years doing long distance.  Long distance is hard but it’s worth it to be with the person when it’s done.

We always knew we would end up together, so it was no shock when we got engaged on April 11, 2014.  I love being engaged.  It’s really fun — plus having a diamond ring to look at is not a bad deal.  But then when I graduated in December 2014, my fiance and I decided to take the leap and move in together before the big day in September 2015.

So what’s the big deal? A lot of people live together before their married.  Is that the added twist?

Like many Missourians, my fiance is a farmer…let’s call him J because I don’t know if he wants me revealing his name.  He lives in a very rural town in Missouri.  So I decided to move here with him.  To a town smaller than my graduating high school class.  Wal-Mart is the only place to grocery shop, closest mall is back an hour and a half away, and last Saturday night the bar closed at 10 pm because they didn’t want to stay open any longer.

It’s going to be a hard transition.  I don’t know where anything is yet and don’t feel comfortable anywhere yet.  But it’s going to be a fun transition and I’m looking forward to it and being able to share that with you.

One thought on “My story

Leave a Reply

