What Everyone Loves to Hate: Networking

Networking *rolls eyes*

About my junior year of college, everyone started freaking out because they needed to network.  No one even mentioned this the first two years, but all of a sudden it was a must.  You had to make contacts and professional connections that you could use later in life when you’re looking for a job.  As for someone who is kind of shy in general — especially when making new friends, this terrifies me.

I had friends in college and knew people in my classes, but how are my peers going to help me get a job when half of them are leaving Missouri?  I never really took it seriously.  And now I really understand the importance of it.  Luckily, I need to network in the area I’m living now.  I network with my new friends here and their friends.  My future mother-in-law helps and gives advice too.  But the other day at work we had a volunteer who asked me to send me her resume and talked with her manager about me. Networking is that easy? All I had to do was talk about my interest in nutrition and community wellness and bam! I taking her email and sending her my resume.

I still think Networking sucks.  I’m great on paper for my experience level and once people get my resume,  I have more to say.  But I just don’t like talking about myself in that way.  I don’t like shoving nutrition facts down someone’s throat in order to let them know how much I know.  But I guess it’s what you have to do.  I need to learn how to be subtle about it.  I guess I just need to learn to network in general.

What are your networking tips and tricks? Do you love it or hate it? I would love to hear!

Leave a Reply

