Ladies Night

Since the move, I’ve tried really hard to make new friends — especially girlfriends.  I had so many great girls in college, and we still talk on the phone and facebook and everything, but it’s also nice to have them nearby.

I’ve made a few really fun and nice girls here and I’m definitely looking forward to getting to know them better.  One is engaged like me (and getting married like 2 weeks after!), one is a single, always ready for a good time girl, one is a new mom and one is sweet and quiet.  They have all been friends for a while, but with me there are still a few awkward silences.  I think we can change that pretty quick and we will become good friends soon.

So last week we had the idea to do a ladies night.

Last night we all met up at a nearby restaurant to have dinner and a few drinks.  I have a curse set upon me that if I’m meeting a group of people somewhere, I will ALWAYS be first.  Even if I leave my house at the time we’re supposed to meet, I will be first.  I’ve accepted it and moved on.  So yes, I got there first and learned that the restaurant was having a ladies night — half off wine and well drinks for ladies!

Once they all showed up we got drinks.  I’m more a beer person and wine person, so when when I get a well drink I always panic a little bit.  I ended up getting a margarita because you can’t really go wrong.  My friends were coming up with some creative drinks and using alcohol I didn’t even know existed.  They were cool to try.

I ended up getting a soup and salad, since I wasn’t that hungry.  I got half a garden salad with grilled chicken and it was almost $9…what? That was a little pricey for me, but at least the drinks were half price.

After dinner we went next door to the movie theater and saw ‘50 Shades of Grey.’  Unless you live under a rock, you know this movie has created some tension and curiosity in the world, but I was excited to see it.  I thought the movie was really good.  They were able to accurately describe the relationship and sexual tension between them without being too graphic.  There were some graphic scenes but they were not over the top or too inappropriate for those over the age of 18 (if you ask me).

It was a fun ladies night and I’m glad we got to go.  Hopefully we can do it again.

What are some activities you and your friends like to do?

Leave a Reply

