Registering

J and I finally registered last week.  He had to take an entire day off work to go with me — I can’t wait until planning gets more intense and if he wants a say he’ll have to leave the cows by themselves for a day.

We registered at both Bed, Bath & Beyond and Kohl’s.  We have most of the basic kitchen and bathroom stuff in our house already, but our $10 Wal-Mart appliances could definitely use an upgrade.  We ended up registering for most things  you would expect on a registry, plus some things that matched our personalities.

Before you go I think it’s important to make a list of things you need to register for, so you don’t forget anything.  I looked on websites like the knot, wedding wire and macy’s to get pre-made lists and then drafted a list that fit my needs.  And it’s important to think about the future.  We probably don’t need a stock pot this year, but in 5 years, that could be very helpful.  I’ve never used a food processor but I’m constantly finding recipes that require it so I registered for one.

J and I had also discussed the styles of appliances and kitchen wares we wanted.  We decided to go with black appliances instead of stainless steel if the choice came.  We also decided we didn’t want a rustic or modern look, but more of a classic style.  We’re definitely more classic people and rustic is way to done up here.

It took us about 2.5 hours at Bed, Bath & Beyond. I think we spent an hour and a half of that in the kitchen section.  There are so many things — my goodness.  It’s not just pots and pans and toasters.  It’s salad bowls, cake pans, muffin tins, cutting boards, slotted spoons, colanders, strainers and many, many more things.  I hope we can find room for all of that in our kitchen!

I was always a little nervous about putting something if it was a little pricey, but the manager of the store told us not to worry and register for what we want because after that many items, it will work out so there’s something in every price range.  J also made sure that I registered for what I wanted without worrying.  Like I really wanted the ninja blender with the single serving cup as well that was like $140 but I use my blender most days and its fantastic so he got me to just go for it.  He got to register for things he wanted too — like one of those vacuum that just rolls around on it’s own.  They’re $400 so if anyone gets it, I’ll be shocked, but it would actually be very nice.  When J gets home from the farm there is ALWAYS dirt on the floor.  I actually sweep the floor everyday.

For the all important plates and bowls, we decided to go for 10 place settings.  We thought 8 may be too few if we start having a family, but when are we ever going to use 12 plates.  Plus then we won’t have to run the dishwasher as much.

We agreed on a blue scheme for the kitchen and a green & gold theme for the bathroom.  We found really pretty mercury glass bathroom accessories like the soap dispenser, toothbrush holder, etc.  I think it’s gonna go well.  And that’ll mean maybe I can convince J to let me paint the bathroom!

If anyone out there has registered and has any tips or suggestions for things we may have missed, PLEASE let me know so we don’t forget anything!

Leave a Reply

