Overnight Oats

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!! Remember to wear green or else you’ll get pinched!

I love oatmeal.  Back in college oatmeal was a staple for any meal that I didn’t have the money to make anything else.  You can make it however you want! My favorite is maple brown sugar.  I usually eat the instant, but using rolled oats, it’s pretty good as well.  I meant to take a picture but then I ended up eating it all first. Whoops.

Last night I made a container of overnight oats for the first time.  These mason jars of oatmeal have been all over my pinterest page, so I thought I need to try it once and for all.  I used 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup almond milk, strawberries (smashed a little bit) and chia seeds and put it in the fridge to be ready in the morning.  And unlike all the pinterest pictures and recipes, I did not have a mason jar so I just used a glass snapware.  Maybe I should invest in mason jars?  But then this morning I added a little more milk and maple syrup to sweeten it up a little.

You’re supposed to keep them cold and just eat as is, but my fridge is way too cold so I heated it up for 30 seconds.  Then I added even more strawberries on top.  I love strawberries!

The oats I made had about 315 calories, 55 g carbs (12 g fiber), 9 g fat & 10 g protein.  That’s not too bad.  I would like to add more protein to my next creation.  Oats fill me up but my protein goal for the day is 70 g so only eating 10 at breakfast could make it more challenging at other meals.  Maybe adding protein powder?  I saw a lot of recipes with nuts in them so I’m going to try them too.  So many options!

This afternoon I’m going to do a light workout (can’t do much with my knee still hurting) then I have an interview (cross your fingers for me)!!  After that a friend is going to have a BBQ with burgers, brats and beer.  Only the beer makes it St. Pat’s theme but we’re not picky — as long as there is a reason to drink beer! Haha!

What are overnight oat flavors you like?

 

Leave a Reply

