Italian Sausage Spaghetti Squash

I don’t know how many of you are on the spaghetti squash train…but if you’re not, you should jump aboard because they are delish.  I found a recipe on pinterest

Those yellow peppers really add a nice color

Then again almost all of the recipes I make are from pinterest because I’m not that creative…I just add my own flair to them.  This one said to remove the sausage from the casing so it would be more of a ground beef texture.  I cut  mine into small pieces so that it would act more as a meatball and really give it that spaghetti essence.

Check out my Mizzou potholder. Pretty sweet, eh?

When I first introduced my small town friends to spaghetti squash they all gave me a blank stare.  Apparently it’s not as popular up here, so I had to send a photo around explaining that “Yes! It does actually look like spaghetti, just less calories and more nutritional value.”  They are just so easy to make.  Put it in the microwave for 5 minutes so it gets soft and you’re able to cut into it (otherwise trying to cut a spaghetti squash in half is your bicep workout for the week).  Then pour some olive oil on it and a little salt and pepper.  Turn over so the meat of the squash is down and roast for 45-60 minutes at 400.  Boom. Magic.  Of course then you have to wait a while so you don’t burn your hand (or face from the steam). I’ve been too eager and done that — learn from my mistakes.

  After the spaghetti squash was finished, I added the meat/pepper/sauce mixture into the spaghetti squash boats, added some cheese and broiled it for 15 minutes.  That is a lot of goodness right there.  Dairy, meat, veggies…what more could you want in one dish!! (LOL JUST KIDDING.  When I cook I use like 15 dishes so I could never have a one pot dish, but it all cooks up in the same in the end). J even liked it.  In fact, he even ate the leftovers for lunch the next day.  I know…it’s maddess! Also, this is how Octane likes to sit and eat dinner.  He knows I won’t let him eat from my plate so he always goes for dad’s.  And he just sits himself up on dad’s arm seeing what food he can sneak and lick off his plate.  It’s really cute though.  Can cats eat people food and stay healthy? I don’t know!! Hopefully he’s ok.

Here’s the link to the recipe.  I’m not even going to claim to have thought of this divine dinner.  But I hope you all enjoy!! http://www.nutmegnanny.com/2014/10/10/sausage-and-peppers-stuffed-spaghetti-squash/

Leave a Reply

